DC Comics

Published on May 1, 2017

DC comics is one of the largest and oldest American comic book companies.

It was founded by Malcolm Wheeler-Nicholson in 1934. During that time the company was known as “National Allied Publications”.

The initials “DC” came from the company’s popular series Detective Comics, which featured Batman’s debut in May 1939.

The company did not officially change its name to DC comics however, until 1977.

One of the iconic superheroes of DC comics, Superman was first published in 1938.

Joker is the most acclaimed villain character of all time created by Bob Kane.

According to DC.wikia, DC has “more than 10,000 characters”.

DC comics feature superhero teams such as The Justice League, The Justice Society of America, The Suicide Squad and The Teen Titans.

In 2009, Warner Bros. announced that, DC comics would become a subsidiary of DC Entertainment, inc.

Later numerous films were made on Flash, Green Lantern, Wonder Woman etc.

DC relocated its headquarters from New York to Burbank, California in 2015.

Everyday readers of all ages from all over the world reads DC Comics.

More Others

We also recommend